The Beatitudes

Composed by Bernice Johnson Reagon, copyright: Songtalk Publishing Co.

Blessed are the poor in spirit
Blessed are the poor in spirit for theirs is the kingdom of heaven
Blessed are they that mourn
Blessed are they that mourn, for they shall be comforted
Blessed are the meek and lower
Blessed are the meek for they shall inherit the earth
Blessed are they—seekers after righteousness
Who are hungry and thirsty, they shall be filled

Blessed are the merciful
Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy
Blessed are the pure in heart
They shall see God
Blessed are the peacemakers
For they shall be called the children of God
Blessed are which are beaten down
Blessed are ye----
Blessed are they when men shall revile you and persecute you and say all manner of evil against you falsely for myself, rejoice and be exceeding glad, for theirs is the kingdom, for so persecuted were those who came before you